My Whys…….

dad-and-son-1432772_1920

I want to be fit. I want to be healthy. I want to not feel sluggish. I want to be able to do physical activities without getting tired immediately.

All of these are common thoughts to those of us who have struggled with weight loss. I know that I constantly am thinking them still and I’ve already lost a decent amount.

So how do we change these from being thoughts to being actions that will get us to that goal line?

For me, it was discovering my “Whys.”

Losing weight and getting healthy is not an easy journey. It has lots of pitfalls and speed-bumps. There are days you’ll just want to give up and quit because it’s easier (in the short term) to just eat what you want and not go to the gym.

It’s these days that it is imperative that you know your “whys.”

For me, I had probably 3 big “Whys”

  1. My body is a Temple unto the Lord and so I must treat it with respect and take care of the vessel my Lord has entrusted to me while I am here on earth.
  2. I am a father to a currently 11 month old boy, and he is the most amazing little guy you can imagine. I definitely need to be here for him and my weight and health is a poor excuse to check out early and not be there for my son.
  3. My wife is my best friend on this earth. She deserves for me to be the absolute best that I can be, and that includes my health.

So while I did Rob’s Big Losers, I had setbacks and stumbles, but every time I got back on the horse because I though of one of the reason that I need to keep going. In the end, I lost 42 lbs and even ran a 5K, which would have been unthinkable 12 weeks ago.

If there is anything else I can say to motivate you to just start, it’s do something TODAY. Tomorrow is never going to be here, because when tomorrow becomes today it is all to easy to push tomorrow just one more day away and before you know it years pass.

So what are your “whys?”

One thought on “My Whys…….

Leave a comment